Fusions - Contemporary App Music @Berlin Cathedral 6|6|2013

  • Published: 06 December 2013
  • "Fusions" by Uwe is a fusion of two famous organ works: the Toccata in F-Major by C.M. Widor and Toccata in D-Minor by J.S. Bach, both played by an organ. This video is an edited version and shows scenes from the Anniversary Concert at Berlin Cathedral, the original length of "Fusions" is 8 minutes long.

    The sound material includes sampled and edited sounds of organs and different sound samples of rain and thunderstorms. They were played by six musicians via the App "ThumbJam" (iOS) and the eleven loudspeakers placed in the cathedral.

    In the beginning, the Toccata in F-Major motif and harmony is prevalent. The piece slowly fades away and melts into the sound of water, until only raindrops can be heard. Ultimately, an acoustic rain shower pours down on the audience, made possible by eleven loudspeakers that are placed all around the arch of the cathedral. Right when the thunderstorm reaches its peak, the organ sets in abruptly, playing the famous and distinct opening sequence of Bach's Toccata. The sound flows into another sound wall of water and rain, until a soft and alternate version of the Toccata can be heard. This mash-up of sound and melody phrases slowly approaches the original motif of Bach's Toccata, which is then played by the organ at the end of the piece.

    -- Anniversary Concert at Berlin Cathedral on 6|6|2013
    The DigiEnsemble's performance of Bach's Christmas Oratorio played on mobile devices only at the Berlin Cathedral in 2012 was a huge success. In celebration of the Berliner Dom's 20 year anniversary, the cathedral's organist Andreas Sieling and the DigiEnsemble paired up and gave their first concert together on June 6, 2013.

    For the anniversary show, the musicians composed four pieces. Their intention was to experiment with the sound possibilities of the cathedral's interior architecture. They used 12 loudspeakers, placed all around the cathedral, and created new sounds as "frozen echoes" and "fluid music" (rainshower in the dom).

    # 1 Fusions - a piece by Uwe | soundart
    # 2 TimeShape - a piece by Puya Shoary | spatial music
    # 3 Quell-Klang - a piece by Daniel Grote | soundart
    # 4 Higgs - a piece by Nico Steckhan | soundart
    # 5 Bach: Air - performed by cathedral organist Andreas Sieling with Uwe, Matthias Krebs and Daniel Grote

    It's with great thanks to Audiofly Soundtec GmbH for the technical support. audiofly.eu/

    -- DigiEnsemble Berlin
    Matthias Krebs
    Daniel Grothe
    Puya Shoary
    Nico Steckhan
    Stefan Meinking
    Johannes Wolff
    Miriam Akkerman
    Kathleen Kinzel
    with Andreas Sieling

    Liesa Rademacher
    Joanna Podkowa
    David Gion Müller
    Björn Richie Lob
    Lukasz Fabijanczyk

    Lukasz Fabijanczyk

    Matthias Krebs

    contact and follow us on
  • Video Clips Video Clips

Comments • 0